top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie McFarlane

Finalising the RV - 6

This week I tasked myself with finishing up the modelling of the RV and get the unwrapping completed and also finish texturing the vehicle. Which I think was pretty achievable.

Next I added the windows, door and small modular compartments, I made modular reflector lights and placed them in position. I also cut out a section from the main body for the retractable steps. I then extracted from where the grille would be and created a higher poly-count piece to keep the main body lower poly.

Furthermore, I started working on the mirrors, the window wipers and the retractable canopy. The back lights and small details like the license plate.

After all of the parts that needed to be modelled I needed to begin unwrapping it and then after unwrapping I planned on making a high-poly.

Unwrapping took a little longer than I expected but I just put a few more hours in this week to get it done. Since I have achieved what I set out to do this week on the RV, I decided to start working on more foliage and getting a few bushes and plants ready for engine. But since I wasn't fully finished with the RV I've started to plan what I was going to do with it next. I want to have a corrugated metal effect horizontally across the model, I am yet to decide on whether I should instead texture the corrugated metal effect instead of creating a high-poly. This is something I will be trying to figure out within the next week and could possibly look at creating a texture through substance alchemist again. I then took the model into substance painter, I started by sampling the right colour from an image of the RV from the show. I then found a texture that's normal was very similar to the cladding on the side of the real RV, this is what I decided to use for the sides and back of the vehicle. I then slowly added colour around the vehicle to give it, it's iconic look. I also used normal's on the roof details to get a vented effect.

With a little bit of iteration and work I managed to smash out most of the texturing in a couple of hours and just needed to polish things over with dirt and other smaller details like the bullet holes that are iconic to the shows version of the fleet-wood bounder.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page