top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie McFarlane

Blockouts and Progress - 2

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

This week was about blocking out the RV as accurately as possible, finding issues with the reference and wheels! Firstly I began modelling from a plane to get the basic shape of the side of the vehicle. I inserted edge-loops where necessary to get the shape I wanted. Then eventually when I had the side view complete I mirrored it and combined the edges in the centre to create the outside shell. I then decided to create some of the outside parts.

I started with the ladder on the back, then working my way around the top of the RV creating the A/C and bars that border the back of the vehicle. I then created the windows accurately to the reference. I eventually want to create a high poly for this vehicle and give it detailed features that really pay homage to the TV series and its amazing pilot episode. I then begun working on the wheels for the RV in which I created a pizza slice from a cylinder and then used the duplicate special feature to accurately create a circular pattern, after cutting holes for the wheel rims. I then merged the instances and created wheel rims.

I then used the transform component tool to extrude the tyre part of the wheel out. Then I used soft selection on the completed wheel rim to create a warped effect which looks really good. My next objective is to create the windshield part of the vehicle and then start thinking about how I'm going to do the interior to the RV.

I'm also going to work on getting the door in place and work on other smaller details and eventually get the cladding modelled out for a high-poly bake. I've also been planning out and blocking out my three assets that are from my 2nd year game project.

I started with a block base and modelled out a sofa feet shape and then extruded up to create the arms of the chair. I've been looking at Victorian Lounge chair reference which has inspired my approach. My next objective was to create the back of the lounge chair and start doing more intricate parts of the lounge chair.

Using similar images to this one here really helped me figure out what sort of shape I would have to create to make an accurate looking lounge chair. I also really appreciate the small engravings and will definitely give this model a high poly with it's own engravings.

I then added a back area to the lounge chair by just extruding, shaping and welding the back polygons. After shaping it up to look how I wanted it to, I begun adding Cushioned areas and extruding the Arm handles to give an overhand effect. I then used the soft selection to gradient the overhang. I also added some small extruded parts to the bottom of the model, this is where the engravings are going to be added in the high poly. Next week I'm going to wrap this model up and also start powering through the other models.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page