top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie McFarlane

Decisions and Research - 1

Updated: Oct 27, 2019

In this project I am expected create a portfolio of art and blog week by week how I go about creating the portfolio, things I've learned on the way and how I've implemented new methods into my workflow. I am also expected to do my own research and plan portfolio pieces around the television show / movie I have chosen for the basis of this project. To begin with I had to decide on a television show or movie that I wanted to replicate a scene from. It took me a couple of hours to get to a solid idea that I liked and would be happy working on for the next semester. I had decided to create a scene from the AMC series 'Breaking Bad' Specifically I wanted to create a scene from the Pilot of the episode as it is very iconic. The scene where the mobile meth-lab is crashed into a ditch on the side of a desert road. Inside the RV lays Walter White's assistant Jessie Pinkman, and two drug dealers that have been gassed out. For this project I want to create the desert environment surrounding the RV as seen in the picture below. I also want to create the inside of the RV with the destroyed meth lab and unconscious drug dealers.

With the main character Walter White standing in the iconic pose for the start of the series In the middle of the road next to the crashed RV, wearing a green shirt and his 'tighty-whities' holding a gun towards the oncoming sirens.

I begun researching about the specific model of the RV from the show. I found out that it is a Fleetwood-Bounder from 1986, so I checked online for any blueprints and found one.

However it isn't entirely accurate so I have collected a library of reference for the RV from other online libraries and from the TV series itself. I also noticed that the RV in the show is slightly modified outside and because of this I'm going to model it to be accurate to the TV series version. I started laying out the reference in Maya to begin blocking out the model. I also started looking at other models online to see how I should go about modelling the outside of the RV. I found a very nice high quality model from Houstera Studio which will definitely help me in modelling the RV. - https://www.artstation.com/artwork/ZYAD I also had to think about the 3 assets that I have been tasked to create too. The brief says that the assets have to be from our 2nd year university game, my 2nd year game being an episodic Stealth, Action, Horror game set in Victorian era London with an atomic twist. Having already worked on the game for a few days I have already got a feel for creating Victorian style assets. I have also collected lots of different images for reference for the assets I am making in the game.

I decided on making a gramophone, a lounge sofa and an arm chair. After making this decision I started collecting some reference on each of them until I was confident in how they looked. Over the next week I'm going to be further blocking out these assets and the environment, and exploring how I will approach the foliage for the main environment. I will also begin blocking out a character base mesh ready to start sculpting the characters for the environment. Finally I need to start gathering texture materials ready to be made into materials in Substance Alchemist.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page