top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie McFarlane

Focusing on Assets - 3

Updated: Dec 10, 2019

This week I decided to direct my focus towards the three assets I have to create; a Lounge chair, Gramophone and arm-chair. First of which I started last week. My overall goal for this week was to complete the Lounge Sofa and Gramophone and possibly the Dining Chair.

I decided to change how I was approaching the details on this asset, I wanted to model more of the curls to give a more authentic look. I took this asset into Zbrush and create a high poly version of this model, Sculpting in more details, creating a cushioned pattern.

Next I had to fix some geometry especially the mesh for the engravings. I then cleaned up the topology of the meshes that needed it and begun unwrapping the mesh. Once I had finished unwrapping I took it into substance painter and textured it, using a mixture of patterned textures and cloth like materials.

I then decided to start working on the gramophone, I simply started modelling from a cube. I used a plane to get the shape of the gramophone. Using soft selection to get the warped inwards effect, then I duplicated it around itself to create the correct shape. I then inserted a cylinder and retopo'd around the planes. Later I unwrapped the models pieces and took it into substance painter as I thought the gramophone didn't need a high poly as I could achieve what I wanted through texturing. This week I had a lot of other project work to complete so I couldn't get all three of my assets done but that will be my first objective next week. However I am really pleased with the outcomes of these assets and looking forward to getting this part of the project completed.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page